Counting Down to Felt United Day…October 5, 2013

Well, we’re less than a week away from the 5th Annual Felt United Day which takes place on Saturday. Wow! How did that year zip by so quickly? Did it for you, too? I hope that you have made plans to commemorate the day in some way…The possibilities are endless. Perhaps you’re taking part in an exhibit, an Open House at your home or studio, a fashion show, a collaboration with other felt artists, a feltmaking demonstration for friends and family, teaching, or simply brewing yourself a cup of coffee or tea and enjoying all of the images on our Facebook Felt United page. There’s certainly plenty of inspiration out there. Thank you to all who have already posted or who soon will be.

Be sure to note the Facebook Felt United Events page, too, as there are several posts listed for events in Latvia, Lithuania, Scotland, and two right here in Michigan. If you haven’t listed your event as yet, there’s still time to do so and we would certainly welcome that.

There are many wonderful images on our Facebook page depicting this year’s

Splash! by Pam de Groot

Splash! by Pam de Groot

theme; WATER…And, more will be forthcoming as FeltUnited unfolds. Please be sure to share your photos…We can’t wait to see what everyone has been working on! Oh, and speaking of photos, don’t you love Pam de Groot’s fun ‘Splash’? It’s marvelous!!! See additional photos of ‘Splash’ on Pam’s Facebook page.

Together – We Felt United!

Happy Felting all,

Dawn and Nicola

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: 2013 FeltUnited, inspiration, News

Author:Dawn Edwards/Felt So Right

I am a felt/fiber artist and instructor. I love to share the joys of feltmaking with others, having taught within the U.S. and internationally. I specialize in fun, out-of-the ordinary felt hats sold under the name of Felt So Right through specialty retail, boutique and gallery shops throughout the United States.I live in Plainwell, Michigan, where I work from my home studio. I believe that we are all artists....That it is the soul deep need to create. I love and appreciate so many of the arts, but I have found my passion through feltmaking. I find such joy in the alchemy of turning a few ounces of wool into a thing of beauty, limited only by the imagination and I find that the unique sculptural and color possibilities always inspire creativity. I have studied feltmaking with renowned felt and fiber artists from around the world. Feltmaking has truly opened windows to the world for me and I am grateful for this most wonderful opportunity. www.feltsoright.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Counting Down to Felt United Day…October 5, 2013”

  1. September 30, 2013 at 15:02 #

    Reblogged this on Feltsoright's Blog and commented:
    Just a few more days until Felt United Day. If you’re free on Saturday, please join me at the lovely Design Street, 115 W. Bridge St., Plainwell, Michigan, from 10:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. for a Felt United Open House/Exhibit, including works from artists, Ingrid Garrod, GlitterGirl Feltworks, Shirley Topp, Tamara Luke Hosler, Deborah Barnes Hall, Catherine Niessink, Barb Bare, and myself. Hope to see you on Saturday.

  2. Julie Williams
    September 30, 2013 at 10:29 #

    With one thing and snother and being busy throughout the year the Felt United Day had entirely slipped my mind date wise. So this week I will be busy making my watery items in the hope that I don’t let it slip away without posting photos this year. Thanks for the reminder.

    • September 30, 2013 at 15:56 #

      Hope your felt water making is going well Julie….Thanks so much for joining in. I’ll look forward to seeing your photo(s).

Leave a Reply

