2013 FELT UNITED…THINKING ABOUT WATER

It’s raining here this morning and all of the water has me thinking about FeltUnited and wondering what you might be planning as a way to celebrate Felt United on October 5, 2013. Perhaps an open studio, working on a collaborative effort, sharing your felting knowledge with family, friends and community, a fashion show…The possibilities are as deep as the ocean.

Nicola and I are so pleased with all of the creative felt images posted to the Facebook FeltUnited page. I love water, so it’s been great to focus on this most necessary element and to see your interpretations. Of all of the places on earth that bring me the greatest joy, I’d have to say that those moments generally involve water. Where do I go if  I’ve had a stressful week? A drive to Lake Michigan and a stroll on the beach….Seems to put life into perspective and calms me. How do I typically end the day? With a hot, relaxing shower. Favorite vacations with family and friends? Almost all involve water … Niagara Falls, Virginia Beach, Myrtle Beach, Grand Cayman, etc. Looking back, I’ve always been drawn to water. Images of water fill my mind….The excitement that I felt on my first ever passport related trip last year to visit great buddy and FeltUnited partner, Nicola Brown…and flying over Dublin Bay just before landing. Why, it gave me goosebumps! And, then this year’s trip to visit Joni in Australia….and the most magnificent of sights imaginable…The beauty of the Great Ocean Road and the sight of the limestone stack formations of the Twelve Apostles created through erosion by the water, was truly one of the most spectacular sights that I’ve ever had the pleasure of seeing.  All have feelings/emotions connected through images of water, and it’s so interesting to see all of the various takes on this  shown through your beautiful photos on our Facebook FeltUnited page. Thank you so much for uniting through this year’s theme….Nicola and I appreciate your thoughtful submissions greatly.

Water, such a necessary part of life…we can’t live without it. It’s one of the four known basic elements. And, while I love water, and find it inspiring, I also know that as with all of the elements, including wind, fire, and earth, it holds destructive powers, too… too much and flooding occurs, too little, droughts and the devastation that it causes, and we’ve certainly seen both instances in recent days. Sue Hale (GlitterGirl Feltworks on Facebook) submitted the attached photo of her water themed piece, “Seiche”. Sue gave us some background information on her submission, stating that, ‘A seiche is a standing wave in an enclosed, or partially enclosed, body of water. In 1912, my hometown of South Haven, Michigan experienced this phenomenon. The wave was reported to be almost 20 feet high and destroyed bath houses on the beach as well as sweeping small craft out of the river.’  South Haven is about an hour from my home, yet I had never heard of this phenomenon. Thank you Sue for your amazing submission.

I’m also so taken by Ingrid Garrod’s (Leiden, the Netherlands) felt water pot. Ingrid states that her ‘Water Pot’ is, ‘A tribute to the countless women who walk long distances to collect water for their families.’ Ingrid’s thoughtful contribution serves as a reminder that those of us who are fortunate enough to turn the handle of a faucet and have water appear are very blessed indeed. Many around the world do not have that luxury. Thank you Ingrid.

And, so much skill and effort went into Galina Blazejewska’s (Kołobrzeg, Poland) gorgeous ‘Under the Sea’ felt coat. Thank you for adding such beauty to our FeltUnited page, Galina.

So, what will be your take on water? Please continue to post your photos on our FeltUnited Facebook page, and remember when doing so to write a brief explanation of how your piece relates to water. We love hearing about the thought processes that went into your creation. Also, just a quick mention that if you’re not yet a member of the FeltUnited Facebook group, please just click on the link and request to join….We’d love to have you included…We Felt United.

Looking forward to seeing what’s in your mind’s eye for this year’s FeltUnited theme…Water…

Happy felting all….

Dawn Edwards

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: News

Author:Dawn Edwards/Felt So Right

I am a felt/fiber artist and instructor. I love to share the joys of feltmaking with others, having taught within the U.S. and internationally. I specialize in fun, out-of-the ordinary felt hats sold under the name of Felt So Right through specialty retail, boutique and gallery shops throughout the United States.I live in Plainwell, Michigan, where I work from my home studio. I believe that we are all artists....That it is the soul deep need to create. I love and appreciate so many of the arts, but I have found my passion through feltmaking. I find such joy in the alchemy of turning a few ounces of wool into a thing of beauty, limited only by the imagination and I find that the unique sculptural and color possibilities always inspire creativity. I have studied feltmaking with renowned felt and fiber artists from around the world. Feltmaking has truly opened windows to the world for me and I am grateful for this most wonderful opportunity. www.feltsoright.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “2013 FELT UNITED…THINKING ABOUT WATER”

  1. June 25, 2013 at 15:38 #

    I will be giving a keynote lecture at the Canadian Canoe museum about my work and “Paddling your own Canoe” in your art practice. Seems very fitting for the theme!

    • June 25, 2013 at 15:41 #

      Yes, it does Andrea…Thanks so much for sharing. Wish I lived close enough to come to hear your lecture.

Leave a Reply

